University of Auckland logo

Stay informed

Receive updates on teaching and learning initiatives and events.

Awards and grants

University of Auckland Teaching Excellence Awards

These annual awards recognise excellence in teaching. Successful applicants receive a medal and a prize of $6,000. There are up to five Teaching Excellence Awards made each year in the following categories:

  • Sustained Excellence in Teaching (two awards)
  • Early Career Excellence in Teaching (two awards)
  • Leadership in Teaching and Learning

Read more about the awards and view the previous recipients.

Congratulations to the recipients of the University Teaching Excellence Awards for 2022.

Sustained Excellence in Teaching

Ms Mel Wall

Ms Mel Wall (Science)

Early Career Excellence in Teaching

Dr David Moreau
Dr Deepika Jindal

Dr Deepika Jindal
(Business School)

Dr Kathryn Jones

Te Whatu Kairangi | Aotearoa Tertiary Educator Awards

Te Whatu Kairangi | Aotearoa Tertiary Educator Awards are coordinated by Ako Aotearoa and recognise tertiary educators who share their commitment to outstanding practice and make a difference to learners.

Congratulations to the recipient of the 2023 award for innovation in learning, teaching and curriculum, Melanie Wall:

Melanie Wall is a Senior Tutor in the School of Environment who was recognised for the prestigious national award.

Read more about Melanie Wall’s contribution to learning and teaching on the Ako Aotearoa website.

Two new categories have been introduced for 2023.


Le Moana Mua award – recognising the outstanding practice of Pacific Educators who educate Pacific People.

Group award – reflecting the collaborative nature of teaching.

The Scholarship of Teaching and Learning Grants

The Scholarship of Teaching and Learning Grants are designed to enhance student learning experiences through the integration of teaching, learning and research, and support colleagues as they develop educational leadership capability. The grants fund projects that are aligned to the University’s institutional priorities.

Three streams of funding are available:

  • Small scale projects – Development and Innovation Grant
  • Medium scale projects – Scholarship of Teaching and Learning Grant
  • Capacity building – Learning Leaders Grant

Applications for 2023 are open and the deadline for submission is 5pm, Monday 13 November 2023.

The Change One Thing challenge

Launched in February 2023, the Change One Thing challenge grants small awards to recognise impactful teaching practices. The 2023 grant recipients have now been announced.

Small change
Big impact


Academic Career Advancement Programme

ACAP gives mid-phase doctoral candidates a head start in their academic future.

Page updated 08/08/2023 (added Aotearoa 2023 recipient, closed TEA applications)

What do you think about this page? Is there something missing? For enquiries unrelated to this content, please visit the Staff Service Centre

This form is protected by reCAPTCHA and the Google Privacy Policy and Terms of Service apply.